Plus Awards 2013

On July 11, 2013, Team NEO honored communities and organizations for 2012 economic development initiatives that created or retained jobs, attracted investments and developed opportunities for Northeast Ohio at the organization’s seventh annual Economic Development Plus Awards ceremony. 

View photos from the 2013 Plus Awards!

Plus Award Winners

Congratulations to the 2013 Team NEO Economic Development Plus Awards Winners!

Asset Creation

  1. Case Western Reserve University, JumpStart, MAGNET and NorTech

Business Attraction
Less than 100 Employees

  1. City of Streetsboro, Greater Cleveland Partnership, Neighborhood Development Services, Inc. and Portage Development Board

Business Attraction
More than 100 Employees - Domestic
  • City Youngstown/Warren Regional Chamber
Business Attraction
More than 100 Employees - International
  • The Downtown Cleveland Alliance and the Greater Cleveland Partnership

Business Retention
Less than 100 Employees

  • BioEnterprise, City of Oberlin, Lorain County Community College, Lorain County Growth Partnership and Team Lorain County
Business Expansion
Less than 100 Employees

  • City of Geneva and Growth Partnership for Ashtabula County

Business Retention
More than 100 Employees

  1. Richland Community Development Corporation

Business Expansion
More than 100 Employees

  1. City of Huron and Erie County Economic Development Corporation

Fostering Entrepreneurship (tie)

  1. City of Cleveland, Commission on Economic Inclusion, Cuyahoga County Department of Development, Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland, Huntington Bank, The Business of Good Foundation, The Cleveland Foundation and US Small Business Administration
  2. City of Shaker Heights and LaunchHouse

Foreign Investement

  1. City of Cleveland

Minority Business Development

  1. City of Cleveland

Public-Private Partnership

  1. City of Stow, EnviroScience and Greater Akron Chamber

Regionalism & Cross-Border Collaboration

  1. Brimfield Township, City of Tallmadge, FirstEnergy, Greater Akron Chamber, Portage Development Board, Summit County and Village of Mogadore

Workforce Development

  1. University Hospitals

For more information about each of the winning projects,
download our 2013 Plus Award Recipient fact sheet .

H. Peter Burg Regonial Vision Award

Team Northeast Ohio (Team NEO) honored Bill Christopher with the H. Peter Burg Regional Vision Award at the Team NEO Economic Development Plus Awards. The H. Peter Burg Award is Team NEO’s highest honor, commemorating the late chairman and CEO of FirstEnergy Corporation, a regional leader and the founding chairman of Team NEO… click here for more details

2014 Team NEO Plus Awards

For information on how to attend, sponsor or apply to the 2014 Team NEO Plus Awards, please contact Nina Holliday at